Thursday, November 5, 2009

Temples in Tulunadu.

Tulu Nadu is a region on the southwestern coast of Karnataka, consisting of the districts of Dakshina Kannada and Udupi. These districts were formerly the single district of Dakshina Kannada or South Kanara, but Udupi district was separated in August 1997. Also, northern Kasaragod of Kerala state was traditionally part of Tulu Nadu. Dakshina Kannada district is divided into five talukas, Mangalore, Bantwal, Puttur, Sullia, and Belthangady. Udupi district is divided into three talukas Udupi, Karkala and Kundapura.

Tulunadu is famous for its numerous temples. While the place is famous for its Vishnu, Shiva and Durga temples, there are hundreds of temples of other deities as well.

No comments:

Post a Comment